Making the Transition to ICD-10

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 10.21.02 AM

To remain in compliance with healthcare regulations,  physician’s offices, hospitals and healthcare facilities are working to meet the October 2015 deadline for completing the migration from medical coding using the ICD-9 format to ICD-10. The tenth revision of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, ICD-10, contains a staggering number of medical diagnosis codes (68,000) and procedure codes (87,000) compared to its predecessor, which contained only 14,000 diagnosis codes and 4,000 procedure codes. The increase in the number of codes will allow healthcare organizations to capture far more granular data about symptoms, risk factors, and commodities; which should result in dramatic improvements to patient care, clinical and billing accuracy and disease tracking and trending.

A successful ICD-10 migration depends on careful planning and analysis. Differences in the two code sets require a complex conversion including upgrades to the technology systems that capture, report and manage diagnosis codes, particularly the electronic medical record (EMR). A Long Island-based healthcare system with a large network of community, specialty, tertiary and affiliate hospitals and ambulatory and physician practices, was committed to completing the ICD-10 migration in 2014. A five-step process simplified the transition:

  1. Assessment
  2. Gap Analysis
  3. Remediation Plan
  4. EMR Upgrade
  5. Testing and Training

Learn more about how they did it.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *